Patrick J. McGovern and Norman Pearlstine to Receive Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Magazine Industry

New York, New York – (November 10, 2004) – Magazine Publishers of America (MPA) and American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME) will honor two exceptional magazine industry professionals with Lifetime Achievement Awards. Patrick J. McGovern, Founder and Chairman of International Data Group, has been named recipient of The Henry Johnson Fisher Award. Norman Pearlstine, Editor-in-Chief, Time Inc., will be inducted into the Magazine Editors’ Hall of Fame. The announcement was made today by Nina Link, President & CEO, MPA, and Marlene Kahan, Executive Director, ASME. The awards will be presented Wednesday night, January 26, 2005, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

“We’re pleased to be presenting our third annual Lifetime Achievement Awards to two people who have made such enormous contributions to the magazine industry,” said Nina Link. “Pat McGovern has combined his belief in the power of technology with his vast knowledge of publishing to create a powerhouse company that is a leading global provider of news, information and research about information technology. Norm Pearlstine is a relentless innovator and one of the editorial giants of this age.”

“Norm is a true champion for all editors throughout this industry,” said Marlene Kahan. “He enforces the highest standards of journalistic excellence, integrity, independence and fairness. He has defended and built upon the proud legacy of Henry Luce, while literally changing the face of Time Inc., promoting women and minorities to positions of influence.”

The Henry Johnson Fisher Award, established in 1964, recognizes individuals who have made significant and longstanding contributions to the magazine publishing industry and society, and who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership, skill and understanding in support of the industry. The annual honoree is selected by the MPA’s Henry Johnson Fisher Award Committee from nominees suggested by more than 200 voting representatives from MPA member companies. Previous winners have included Willliam T. Kerr, Meredith Corporation; Edward Lewis, Essence Communications Partners; Hugh M. Hefner, Playboy; and Richard M. Smith, Newsweek.

The Magazine Editors' Hall of Fame Award, established by ASME in 1995, recognizes career-long achievement and excellence of a select group of magazine editors. In addition to being at the pinnacle of his/her career on the editorial side of the business, the recipient should also have a record of "giving back" to the magazine industry as a whole, either through industry associations or other voluntary and cooperative forms of service. Previous winners have included Ellen Levine, Good Housekeeping; Arthur Cooper, GQ; Susan Taylor, Essence; and Charles Peters, The Washington Monthly.

Norman Pearlstine:

Norman Pearlstine became editor–in–chief of Time Inc. on January 1, 1995. He is the fifth editor–in–chief in the company's history.

As editor-in-chief, Pearlstine oversees the editorial content of Time Inc.’s magazines, including Entertainment Weekly, Fortune, In Style, Money, People, Real Simple, Sports Illustrated, TIME and many others. Prior to joining Time Inc., Pearlstine worked for The Wall Street Journal from 1968 to 1992, except for a two-year period, 1978-1980, when he was an executive editor of Forbes magazine. While at the Journal, he served as a staff reporter in Dallas, Detroit and Los Angeles (1968-1973); Tokyo bureau chief (1973-1976); managing editor of The Asian Wall Street Journal (1976-1978); national editor (1980-1981); editor and publisher of The Wall Street Journal/Europe (1982-1983); managing editor (1983-1991); and executive editor (1991-1992).

After resigning from the Journal in June 1992, Pearlstine spent a year launching Smart Money magazine for the Journal’s parent, Dow Jones Co., and for Hearst. He then became general partner of Friday Holdings L.P., a multimedia investment company, in April 1993 and held that position until joining Time Inc. in October 1994.

During his time as editor-in-chief, he has overseen the launches of several magazines, including Time for Kids, This Old House, People en Espanol, Teen People, Real Simple, and more recently, All You and the re-launch of Life."

Pearlstine is President of the Atsuko Chiba Foundation, which provides scholarships to Asian journalists for study in the U.S. He also serves on the boards of the Annenberg School of Communications at the University of Southern California, the Committee to Protect Journalists, and the Tribeca Film Institute. He is on the Advisory Board to the Neiman Foundation at Harvard University, and he is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. Pearlstine received his B.A. from Haverford College and his L.L.B. from the University of Pennsylvania.

Patrick J. McGovern:

Patrick J. McGovern is Founder and Chairman of International Data Group (IDG), the world’s leading technology publishing, research and event management company, with annual revenues in 2004 of $2.46 billion.

McGovern’s career in publishing began while he was a student at MIT, when he applied for a part-time editorial job at Computers and Automation—the first U.S. computer magazine. He was promptly named associate editor and became associate publisher upon his graduation from MIT in 1959 with a degree in biophysics.

In 1964, with the computer industry still in its infancy, McGovern founded International Data Corporation (IDC), now an IDG research subsidiary, to provide the industry with timely and reliable statistics on information technology (IT) markets. Three years later, McGovern launched Computerworld, a weekly newspaper dedicated to keeping computer buyers abreast of industry and product news.

Computerworld became IDG’s flagship publication and in 1972, McGovern began exporting the Computerworld concept, launching Shukan Computer in Japan. By “thinking globally but acting locally,” a strategy that continues to guide IDG’s worldwide expansion, McGovern ensured that the Japanese publication would not be a Computerworld clone. From the start, it was edited and managed by a Japanese staff whose mission was to satisfy readers through a superior editorial product tailored to local market needs.

McGovern has overseen IDG’s launch of more than 300 magazines and newspapers in 85 countries, including such globally recognized titles as Computerworld, InfoWorld, Macworld, Network World, CIO and PC World. IDC provides market research, analysis and consulting to nearly 4,000 clients in over 50 countries. IDG produces more than 170 IT conferences and events on five continents, including international series of LinuxWorld Conference & Expo and Macworld Conference & Expo.

Among McGovern’s most recent awards are the 2004 Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Business Publications Editors (ASBPE) and a Top Innovator in Business Publishing Award from BtoB Media Business magazine.

Additional awards include The James Smithsonian Bicentennial Medal from the Smithsonian Institution, The Business Publisher of the Year from The Delaney Report, The Communicator of the Year from the New York Chapter of the Business and Professional Advertisers Association, The Entrepreneur of the Year from Ernst & Young and the 1999 Entrepreneurial Leadership Award from the MIT Enterprise Forum of Cambridge, Inc.

Among his many affiliations, McGovern has served as a director of the Information Industry Association, the Magazine Publishers Association, and the American Management Association. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. McGovern is also a trustee of MIT, the McGovern Institute at MIT and the Whitehead Institute.

# # #


Recent News

If you would like to interview an IDG employee or quote an article in your news coverage please fill out the form below: